2017 Battery Dance Festival


(click to enlarge)

BDF 2016 Eventbrite Workshop header

10:30AM – 12:PM @ Battery Dance Studios – 380 Broadway, 5th Fl. *

August 14: Battery Dance – USA

August 15: Co. Nacional De Danza Contemporanea De Republica Dominicana – Dominican Republic

August 16: Cía. Elías Aguirre – Spain

August 17: Bollylicious – Belgium

August 18: Mophato Dance Theatre – Botswana

Local Companies

Akerman/Jansen {World Premiere}

Amy Marshall Dance Company

Ariel Rivka Dance

Ballet Inc. {World Premiere}

Battery Dance

Buglisi Dance Theatre

Fadi J. Khoury Dance

Janis Brenner & Dancers

Mari Meade Dance Collective (MMDC)

Martha Graham School {World Premiere}

Maxine Steinman & Dancers

Nadine Bommer Dance Company

Peridance Contemporary Dance Company 

SLK Ballet {World Premiere}

SYnC Dance Company {U.S. Premiere}

Tina Croll + Company

The Movement Playground

Trainor Dance {World Premiere}

Trezon Dancy

Wilder Project

Martha Graham School – Darial Sneed

Trainor Dance – Darial Sneed

*Local Companies were selected by an independent curatorial panel that evaluated applications received. The Erasing Borders Festival of Indian Dance was curated by the Indo American Arts Council. International Companies were selected by an internal panel at Battery Dance in coordination with international partners.

Erasing Borders Festival of Indian Dance

Viraja and Shyamjith Kiran | Chennai, India

Sruthi Mohan | Bangalore, India

Dimple Saikia | Gauhati, India

Aakansha Maheshwari and Malini Taneja | California

Kalamandir Dance Company | New Jersey

Kalanidhi Dance Company | Maryland

Kalamindir Dance Company – still from TRIBE

International Companies

Bollylicious | Belgium {U.S. Debut}

Cia. Elías Aguirre | Spain {U.S. Premiere}

Compañía de Danza Contemporánea de República Dominicana | Dominican Republic {NY Premiere}

Danuka Ariyawansa and Behri Drums & Dance Ensemble | Sri Lanka {World Premiere}

Mophato Dance Theatre | Botswana {U.S. Debut}

Companía Nacional de Danza Contemporánea de Republica Dominicana – Irmgard Caroline Becker

Mophato Dance Theatre – Thalefang Charles



The 2017 Festival was supported by


Lead Sponsor

American Express Logo


Hospitality Sponsor




Goldman Sachs



Presented in Association with